Show All Answers
California law provides a statutory fee for the personal representative / administrator of an estate. The Public Administrator is allowed the same compensation as private administrators. The allowable fees are based on the value of the estate accounted for as follows:
- 4% of the first $100,000
- 3% of the next $100,000
- 2% of the next $800,000
- 1% of the next $9,000,000
- 0.5% on the next $15,000,000
- Amounts over $25,000,000 to be determined by the court
The law also provides for statutory attorney’s fees based on the same fee schedule as that of the administrator. The Court may also allow extraordinary fees to the administrator and his/her attorneys for services such as preparation of tax returns, sale of estate property, and litigation to collect assets or defend actions brought against the estate. The Probate Court must review and approve all requests for fees at the time any administrator presents a final accounting to the Court.
Public Administrator fees are deposited in the Nevada County General Fund and used to pay for the costs of administering estate. The Public Administrator can be reached at (530) 265-1471 for additional questions.