Complaint Resolution Facts
- Every local child support agency has an Ombudsperson available to provide assistance regarding complaint resolution or State Hearing.
- The Ombudsperson can help you make your complaint with the local child support agency, or request a State Hearing from the State Hearing Office.
- The Ombudsperson can help you obtain information regarding your complaint to help you prepare for your State Hearing.
- You may contact the Ombudsperson by calling (866) 901-3212. Additional information about the California Ombudsperson Program can be found on the California Department of Child Support Services website.
The Ombudsperson cannot be your representative and will not give you legal advice.
Every Customer’s Right to Complaint Resolution
If you have a complaint against a local child support agency or the Franchise Tax Board for any action or inaction regarding your child support case, you have the right to request complaint resolution from the local child support agency.
- You can make a complaint in writing by completing and submitting a complaint resolution form to your local child support agency or you can call the local child support agency directly.
- Important: Your request for complaint resolution must be made within 90 days from the date you knew, or should have known, about the subject of your complaint.
- The local child support agency has 30 days from the date it receives your complaint to give you a written resolution of your complaint. The local child support agency will contact you if it needs more information or time to resolve your complaint.
Some complaint decisions made by the local child support agency can be appealed to a State Hearing. Only the following issues are subject to State Hearing:
- Denial of child support services
- Child support services not provided timely or in the manner required by law
- Incorrect or missing support payments or the amount of arrears owed
- Decisions to close a case
Instructions for requesting a State Hearing are included on all complaint resolution forms used by the local child support agency.