AB1466 & Gov. Code 27388.2(A) increasing recording fee be $2.00 for
Restrictive Covenant Modification Program fee
In 2021, the California Legislature, by a supermajority vote of both houses, passed AB 1466 which requires all Recorders in California to establish a regulatory inspection and audit program to identify and redact unlawfully restrictive covenants, make regular audit reports to the Legislature, and authorized the Recorders to recover a $2 recording fee on all property recordings pursuant to Government Code section 28388.2(a) to cover their reasonable regulatory costs for performing the inspections and audits mandated by the State.
Effective July 1, 2023, Nevada County Recorder’s Office will impose the $2.00 for every real estate instrument, paper, or notice required or permitted by law to be recorded by the county unless the document(s) are exempt from SB2 fees.