Mobile Food Facilities (MFF)
What is a Mobile Food Facility?
A Mobile Food Facility (MFF) is any vehicle used in conjunction with a commissary or other permanent food facility upon which food is sold or distributed at retail. This department is responsible for the inspection of various types of MFFs to ensure the safety of consumers by reviewing plan checks for the facility as well as issuing valid health permits to those that are compliant with California regulations.
Before applying for a Mobile Food Facility Permit, go through the following steps and read through the MFF Construction and Operation Guide.
- Food Safety Certification
- Business Permit
- HCD Food Truck Remodel/New Inspection
- Restroom Facilities
- Plan Check Application Process
- After Submittal
All MFF's are required to operate out of an approved commissary as required by the California Retail Food Code. The MFF has to be stored at or within the commissary or another approved location by this department.
When submitting your Plan Check Application, include the Commissary Verification Form that is to be filled out by the Commissary owner.
MFF's that prepare or handle non-packaged potentially hazardous food must have either the owner or an employee who has passed an approved Food Manager's Food Safety Certification exam. The exam is proctored and therefore cannot be taken online.
Nevada County offers a course and proctored exam. The cost for the class and exam is $130, exam only is $28. Please see our Events page or contact us for more information regarding our Food Managers Class.
Business permits are separate from food permits and must be obtained through the local city or county Business License Office.
Prior to receiving a Certificate of Operation from this department, you must have a valid Business Permit.
If you are doing a new truck construction or remodeling you will have to contact the State Housing and Community Development Department (HCD) for an inspection to meet California construction standards. This can be done after you have received approval from our department if you are doing new construction or remodel of an MFF.
More information can be found here.
MFF's must have an approved and readily available restroom and handwashing facility within 200 feet from the MFF if operated for more than one hour at any given location.
The Restroom Verification form is included in the Application Packet.
Once the above are all completed, you may submit your plans. There are two types of Plan Checks to apply for:
- MAJOR: New Construction, Major Remodel, or Mobile Food Facilities that have not been previously permitted in Nevada County or another jurisdiction.
- MINOR: Existing mobile facilities that have been previously permitted by Nevada County or another jurisdiction
Specification on what is required on your plans can be found in the MFF Plan Check Guidelines packet (below). The following are required in the Application Packet:
- Two (2) sets of Plans
- Specification Sheets
- Commissary Verification Form
- Written Operational Procedures
- Restroom Verification Form
Though our department prefers electronic submittals, Plan Checks are too extensive to be submitted online. Please turn in all required documents either in person or by mail.
Once you submit your Application Packet and pay the appropriate fees, an Environmental Health Specialist will review your application. Upon approval from our department, construction or remodeling may begin.
Once construction is complete and you have an HCD approval, you can request a final inspection.
Following final inspection approval, a Certificate of Operation may be applied for and a sticker will be issued.
Forms and Applications Opens a New Window.
- MFF Construction and Operation Guide Opens a New Window.
- MFF Major Plan Check Packet Opens a New Window.
- MFF Minor Plan Check Packet Opens a New Window.
- Commissary Verification Form Opens a New Window.
- MFF Restroom Verification Form Opens a New Window.
- MFF Written Operational Procedures
- MFF Reciprocity Packet
- MFF Opens a New Window. Certificate of Operation Application Opens a New Window.
Mobile Food Facility Fees
|Major Plan Check Application||$1659.20|
|Minor Plan Check Application||$622.20|
|Certificate of Operation ( Annual Permit)||$518.50|